Home   Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

We are proud of our faculty and staff who are passionate about our School and our mission. Every day, they strive to ensure the highest standards of excellence in all areas.

Rabbi Avrohom Drandoff – email: adrandoff@torahacademy.org

Head of School
With CTA Since 2012
Master of Arts in School Counseling from Johns Hopkins University; Master Degree in Talmudic law and semicha (rabbinical ordination) from Ner Israel Rabbinical College; Successfully completed: YU Lead: Yeshiva University’s school leadership training program; YU Teach: Legacy Heritage Foundation fellowship; worked as Director of Community Programs for the Columbus Community Kollel.

Mrs. Eliza Delman – email: edelman@torahacademy.org

Upper School Principal/School Counselor
With CTA Since 2005
Mrs. Delman graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a B.A. in Psychology from University of Maryland and earned Masters of Arts in Counseling Psychology from Northwestern University.

Ms. Debra Kira – email: dkira@torahacademy.org
IMG_0581 (1)

Lower School Principal
First Year at CTA
Debra Kira holds a Masters of Education in Education Administration from Grand Canyon University and a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and Secondary Education from The State University of New York at Buffalo. Ms. Kira holds a Montessori Administration Credential from The American Montessori Center, is a trained educator through Neuhaus, Facing History and Ourselves, and The United States Holocaust Museum/Houston Holocaust Museum Educator Program. Ms. Kira was the previous Head of School at UOS Goldberg Montessori School, worked as Head of the English Department at Robert M. Beren Academy, and was an Azrieli Graduate School Supervising teacher.

Mrs. Shirly Benatar – email sbenatar@torahacademy.org
Shirly 5555 croped

Chair of Hebrew Language Department, Grades 2-12
First Year at CTA
Masters of Science in Educational Leadership from University of Dayton; Masters of Science in Entomology from The Ohio State University; Bachelor of Science in Biology (Molecular Genetics) from The Ohio State University; graduate of USCJ The New Director Institute leadership training program; worked as Education Director for Congregation Tifereth Israel; Florence Melton Adult Mini School instructor; CJDS Hebrew Teacher; Judaic Team Leader at Columbus JCC preschool; Biology instructor at OSU; member of the National Executive Board of the Jewish Educators Assembly; recipient of the Columbus Jewish Federation Fellowship grant, and multiple community awards.

Mr. Dror Karavani – email: dkaravani@torahacademy.org

Lower School Judaic Curriculum Coordinator
With CTA Since 2010
Moreh Dror holds a Master of Arts from Lander College (Israel) and a Bachelor of Arts from Herzog Institute. He attended a hesder yeshiva and has worked with the Jewish Agency to develop a Partnership 2000 program. Moreh Dror taught and worked as an administrator in a Jewish day school in Charleston, SC.

Rabbi Zacharia Weitz – email: rabbiweitz@torahacademy.org
Upper School Judaics Curriculum Coordinator
With CTA Since 2008
Rabbi Weitz holds a Masters degree in School Counseling from The Johns Hopkins University and a Masters degree in Talmudic Law from Ner Israel Rabbinical College. He has an Educator’s Certificate from Torah U’Mesorah and the Principal’s Training Institute from Consortium of Jewish Day Schools. Rabbi Weitz is a former faculty member at Columbus Community Kollel and Baltimore Community Kollel. He has worked as a school counselor in Baltimore, MD.

Alphabetical list of faculty and staff – updated as of 8/11/16

To access a teacher blog, click on their “Position” next to their name.

Name Position Voicemail Email
Matt Bailey Phys Ed/Athletic Director 231 mbailey@torahacademy.org
Esther Bar Asher Upper School Hebrew Teacher 337 ebarasher@torahacademy.org
Mordechai Bar Asher Lower School Hebrew Teacher 338 mbarasher@torahacademy.org
Shirly Benatar Hebrew Department Chair 229 sbenatar@torahacademy.org
Jamie Bindell Kindergarten Judaic Studies Teacher 303 jbindell@torahacademy.org
Angela Boldin 2nd Grade Teachers Aide 331 aboldin@torahacademy.org
Mary Lynn Buster 2nd Grade General Studies Teacher 305 mlbuster@torahacademy.org
Lesa Caputo Receptionist 212 lcaputo@torahacademy.org
Angela Carse Food Service
Shira Claman US Judaic Studies Teacher 339 sclaman@torahacademy.org
Diana D’Angelo-Wolff US Hebrew Teacher 309 dwolff@torahacademy.org
Linda Daniel NPSS Tutor
Rachel Degeo Kindergarten General Studies Teacher 310 rdegeo@torahacademy.org
Eliza Delman Upper School Principal/ School Counselor 220 edelman@torahacademy.org
Gayle Downey Food Service
Rabbi Avrohom Drandoff Head of School 228 adrandoff@torahacademy.org
Ana Echevarria-Morales US English/Social Studies Teacher 334 aechevarria@torahacademy.org
Cheri Friedman Music Teacher 311 cfriedman@torahacademy.org
Betty Goldish LS Hebrew Teacher 208 bgoldish@torahacademy.org
Joel Greff Information Technology 306 tech@torahacademy.org
Steve Guinan US English/Social Studies/Film Teacher 312 sguinan@torahacademy.org
Agi Hartstein Kindergarten Teacher’s Aide 323 agihartstein@torahacademy.org
Inbal Hazut US Hebrew Teacher 336 ihazut@torahacademy.org
Shari Herszage Dir of Adm/ Development
& Marketing Coord.
218 sherszage@torahacademy.org
Jennifer Johnson Custodian
Dror Karavani LS Judaic Studies Coordinator/3rd Grade Teacher 216 dkaravani@torahacademy.org
Irit Karavani 1st Grade Judaic Studies Teacher 315 ikaravani@torahacademy.org
Elana Katz 5th/6th Grade Judaic Studies Teacher 316 ekatz@torahacademy.org
Rabbi Dovid Kimche US Judaic Studies Teacher 235 dkimche@torahacademy.org
Yona Kimche US Judaic Studies Teacher 302 ykimche@torahacademy.org
Debra Kira Lower School Principal 215 dkira@torahacademy.org
Charles Kramer US Math Teacher 318 ckramer@torahacademy.org
Norm Leist Chief Financial Officer 200 nleist@torahacademy.org
Tamalynn Lerner LS STEM Teacher 319 tpress@torahacademy.org
Naomi Litchman Kindergarten Teacher’s Aide 320 nlitchman@torahacademy.org
Malca Makias 3rd Grade Teacher’s Aide mmakias@torahacademy.org
Allison Mast Learning Center  329  alleonart@torahacademy.org
Cheryl Miller Librarian 321 cmiller@torahacademy.org
Helen Miller Learning Center 322 hmiller@torahacademy.org
Chaya Morris US Judaic Studies Teacher 324 cmorris@torahacademy.org
Amy Neiwirth Art Teacher 325 aneiwirth@torahacademy.org
Shira Neuman 3rd/4th Grade Judaic Studies Teacher 209 sneuman@torahacademy.org
Chris Morford / Michelle Stevenson Nurse Nurse 211 nurse@torahacademy.org
cmorford@torahacademy.org
mstevenson@torahacademy.org
Dr. Carol Park US Science Teacher 304 cpark@torahacademy.org
Tim Pray US History Teacher 327 tpray@torahacademy.org
Amy Adelman Rahav 3rd Grade General Studies Teacher 301 aadelman@torahacademy.org
Ariella Rosenbaum US Science Teacher 317 arosenbaum@torahacademy.org
Rabbi John Savage US Judaic Studies Teacher 326 jsavage@torahacademy.org
Leah Savage 2nd Grade Teacher 314 lsavage@torahacademy.org
Sharon Schramm US Math Teacher 335 sschramm@torahacademy.org
Dianne Schwendenman Technology Integration Specialist 328 dschwendenman@torahacademy.org
Lisa Sharpe 5th Grade General Studies Teacher 313 lsharpe@torahacademy.org
Eugene Simakovskiy Maintenance
Kim Stock US Academic Support Services Coordinator 214 kstock@torahacademy.org
Karan Tanenbaum Food Service 222 ktanenbaum@torahacademy.org
Deena Tanenbaum 1st Grade General Studies Teacher 330 dtanenbaum@torahacademy.org
Sandi Turner Food Service
Melinda Wagner 4th Grade General Studies Teacher 307 mwagner@torahacademy.org
Rabbi Zecharia Weitz US Judaic Studies Coordinator/US Judaics Teacher 332 zweitz@torahacademy.org
Norma Whitmyre Executive Secretary 227 nwhitmyre@torahacademy.org
Kate Willis 6th Grade General Studies Teacher 333 kwillis@torahacademy.org
Tzivia Zuckerman US Judaic Studies Teacher 210 tzuckerman@torahacademy.org