Faculty and Staff

We are proud of our faculty and staff who are passionate about our School and our mission. Every day, they strive to ensure the highest standards of excellence in all areas.

Rabbi Avrohom Drandoff

Head of School


With CTA Since 2012
email: adrandoff@torahacademy.org
Master of Arts in School Counseling from Johns Hopkins University; Master Degree in Talmudic law and semicha (rabbinical ordination) from Ner Israel Rabbinical College; Successfully completed: YU Lead: Yeshiva University’s school leadership training program; YU Teach: Legacy Heritage Foundation fellowship; worked as Director of Community Programs for the Columbus Community Kollel.

Mrs. Eliza Delman

Upper School Principal/School Counselor


With CTA Since 2005
email: edelman@torahacademy.org
Mrs. Delman graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a B.A. in Psychology from University of Maryland and earned Masters of Arts in Counseling Psychology from Northwestern University.

Mrs. Nicole Miller

Lower School Principal


First Year at CTA
email: nmiller@torahacademy.org
Nicole Miller holds a Masters of Arts in Educational Leadership from the University of Arizona, a Master of Arts in Education from UCLA, and a Bachelor of Arts in Multicultural Child Advocacy from The College of Wooster. Mrs. Miller is certified with a Professional Principal’s License from the State of Ohio. She began her teaching career as a Personal and Living Skills Coordinator in an after school program and was inspired to become an educator. After earning her Masters in Education she taught elementary school followed by a stint as a middle school English Language Arts and History teacher. Mrs. Miller has worked as an instructional leader, coaching teachers and leading staff in district-wide professional development. She most recently comes from a position as a data and instructional coach at a Project Based Learning school in Tucson, AZ.

Mrs. Shirly Benatar

Chair of Hebrew Language Department, Grades 2-12


With CTA Since 2015
email: sbenatar@torahacademy.org
Masters of Science in Educational Leadership from University of Dayton; Masters of Science in Entomology from The Ohio State University; Bachelor of Science in Biology (Molecular Genetics) from The Ohio State University; graduate of USCJ The New Director Institute leadership training program; worked as Education Director for Congregation Tifereth Israel; Florence Melton Adult Mini School instructor; CJDS Hebrew Teacher; Judaic Team Leader at Columbus JCC preschool; Biology instructor at OSU; member of the National Executive Board of the Jewish Educators Assembly; recipient of the Columbus Jewish Federation Fellowship grant, and multiple community awards.

Mr. Dror Karavani

Lower School Judaic Curriculum Coordinator


With CTA Since 2010
email: dkaravani@torahacademy.org
Moreh Dror holds a Master of Arts from Lander College (Israel) and a Bachelor of Arts from Herzog Institute. He attended a hesder yeshiva and has worked with the Jewish Agency to develop a Partnership 2000 program. Moreh Dror taught and worked as an administrator in a Jewish day school in Charleston, SC.

Rabbi Zacharia Weitz

Upper School Judaics Curriculum Coordinator


With CTA Since 2008
email: rabbiweitz@torahacademy.org
Rabbi Weitz holds a Masters degree in School Counseling from The Johns Hopkins University and a Masters degree in Talmudic Law from Ner Israel Rabbinical College. He has an Educator’s Certificate from Torah U’Mesorah and the Principal’s Training Institute from Consortium of Jewish Day Schools. Rabbi Weitz is a former faculty member at Columbus Community Kollel and Baltimore Community Kollel. He has worked as a school counselor in Baltimore, MD.

Alphabetical list of faculty
and staff – updated as of 8/25/17

LAST FIRST POSITION VOICEMAIL EMAIL
Ahern Ann 4th/6th General Studies 307 aahern@torahacademy.org
Bailey Matthew Phys Ed/Athletic Director 231 mbailey@torahacademy.org
Bar Asher Esther US Hebrew 337 ebarasher@torahacademy.org
Bar Asher Mordechai LS/US Hebrew 338 mbarasher@torahacademy.org
Barch Angela 3rd General Studies Aide 331 abarch@torahacademy.org
Benatar Shirly Hebrew Dept. Chair 232 sbenatar@torahacademy.org
Bindell Jamie Kg Judaic Studies 303 jbindell@torahacademy.org
Bond Linda Food Service
Buster Mary Lynn 2nd General Studies 305 mlbuster@torahacademy.org
Caputo Lesa Receptionist 212 lcaputo@torahacademy.org
Chaykin Eva 3rd Judaic Studies Teacher’s Aide 308 echaykin@torahacademy.org
Claman Shira US Judaics 339 sclaman@torahacademy.org
Comes Audra Speech/Language Pathologist
D’Angelo-Wolff Diana US LC/Garden Club 214 dwolff@torahacademy.org
Daniel Linda NPSS Tutor
Degeo Rachel Kg General Studies 310 rdegeo@torahacademy.org
Delman Eliza Upper School Principal/ Guidance Counselor 220 Edelman@torahacademy.org
Downey Gayle Food Service
Drandoff Rabbi Avrohom Head of School 228 adrandoff@torahacademy.org
Friedman Cheri Music 311 cfriedman@torahacademy.org
Greenfeld Rabbi Yaakov US Judaics 328 ygreenfeld@torahacademy.org
Greff Joel IT 306 tech@torahacademy.org
Guinan Steve US English/Social Studies/Film Studies 312 sguinan@torahacademy.org
Hartstein Agi Kg General Studies Aide 323 agihartstein@torahacademy.org
Herszage Shari Dir of Adm/ Development
& Marketing Coord.
218 sherszage@torahacademy.org
Johnson Jennifer Custodian jjohnson@torahacademy.org
Karavani Dror 3rd Judaic Studies/LS Judaic Curriculum Coordinator 216 dkaravani@torahacademy.org
Karavani Irit 1st Judaic Studies 315 ikaravani@torahacademy.org
Karavani Oded LS/US Hebrew 313 okaravani@torahacademy.org
Karavani Tehilla US Hebrew 336 tkaravani@torahacademy.org
Katz Elana 5th/6th Judaic Studies 316 ekatz@torahacademy.org
Kimche Rabbi Dovid US Judaic Studies 235 dkimche@torahacademy.org
Kimche Yona US Judaic Studies 302 ykimche@torahacademy.org
Kramer Charles US Math 318 ckramer@torahacademy.org
Kurre Rachel NPSS
Leist Norm Chief Financial Officer 200 nleist@torahacademy.org
Lerner Tamalynn 5th General Studies/STEM Coordinator 319 tlerner@torahacademy.org
Litchman Naomi Kind. Judaic Studies Teacher’s Aide 320 nlitchman@torahacademy.org
Makias Malca Judaic Studies Teacher’s Aide
Mast Allison Learning Center 329 amast@torahacademy.org
Miller Cheryl Librarian 321 cmiller@torahacademy.org
Miller Helen Learning Center 322 hmiller@torahacademy.org
Miller Nicole Lower School Principal 215 nmiller@torahacademy.org
Morford Chris Nurse 211 nurse@torahacademy.org
Morris Chaya US Judaic Studies 324 cmorris@torahacademy.org
Neiwirth Amy Art 325 aneiwirth@torahacademy.org
Neuman Shira 3rd Judaic Studies 209 sneuman@torahacademy.org
Park Carol US Science 304 cpark@torahacademy.org
Pray Tim US History 327 tpray@torahacademy.org
Rahav Amy 3rd General Studies 301 arahav@torahacademy.org
Rosenbaum Ariella US Science 317 arosenbaum@torahacademy.org
Savage Leah 2nd Judaic Studies 314 lsavage@torahacademy.org
Savage Rabbi John US Judaic Studies 326 jsavage@torahacademy.org
Schramm Sharon US Math 335 sschramm@torahacademy.org
Simakovskiy Eugene Maintenance
Simakovskiy Natalya Maintenance
Smith Christy Math, Ed Tech & Standard. Testing Support
Testing Support
208 csmith@torahacademy.org
Stevenson Michelle Nurse 211 mstevenson@torahacademy.org
Tanenbaum Deena 1st General Studies 330 dtanenbaum@torahacademy.org
Tanenbaum Karan Food Service 222 ktanenbaum@torahacademy.org
Turner Sandi Food Service
VanGundy Kristen US Eng Lang/Soc Stud 334 kvangundy@torahacademy.org
Weitz Rabbi Zecharia US Judaic Studies Coord. 332 zweitz@torahacademy.org
Whitmyre Norma Executive Secretary 227 nwhitmyre@torahacademy.org
Zuckerman Tzivia US Judaic Studies 210 tzuckerman@torahacademy.org